Aus vs. India | Injury-ridden India out to breach Australia’s Gabba fortress

With Jadeja and Bumrah within the sidelines, Kuldeep and both Shardul or Natarajan are probably to make the taking part in XI; the house group too has health points

India, suffering from accidents, headed to Australia’s Gabba fortress for Friday’s ultimate Check with excessive hopes of retaining the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after securing an epic attract Sydney to go away the sequence locked at 1-1.

However Australia shall be optimistic of snatching a sequence win on the Gabba, the place it’s unbeaten in additional than three a long time, particularly as India has been hit by a sequence of accidents.


All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was dominated out on Wednesday after dislocating his left thumb in Sydney, whereas fast-bowling spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is about to miss the ultimate Check with an belly pressure.

Inexperienced assault

If Bumrah can’t play, the already inexperienced assault shall be led by Mohammed Siraj, who has solely performed two Exams, alongside Navdeep Saini who made his debut at Sydney plus one of many uncapped T. Natarajan or Shardul Thakur. There are additionally doubts over the health of No. 6 batsman Hanuma Vihari, who tore his hamstring throughout his 161-ball vigil for 23 runs that helped earn the unlikely draw on Monday.

Fellow Sydney hero R. Ashwin, who spent greater than three hours on the crease with Vihari in an unbroken sixth-wicket stand to save the sport, has a again problem.

Regardless of the horror injury-run, Sunil Gavaskar believes India can win in Brisbane.

“I do know that the Gabba in Brisbane is Australia’s fortress however India has the power to tackle the Australians,” he instructed the Indian media this week. “They (Australia) haven’t misplaced there since 1988 however there may be at all times a primary time. If Ajinkya Rahane and firm do it, I received’t be stunned in any respect.”

Australia has its personal damage worries with younger opener Will Pucovski dealing with an anxious wait after struggling a partial dislocation of his proper shoulder whereas fielding in Sydney.

In the meantime, the Indian group underwent its first coaching session on the Gabba right here on Wednesday, hoping to subject 11 match gamers .

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav was seen bowling on the nets and there’s a likelihood that he could possibly be picked for the match with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja dominated out due to a fractured thumb.

The groups (from):

India: Ajinkya Rahane (Capt.), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R. Ashwin, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T. Natarajan, Kuldeep Yadav and Prithvi Shaw.

Australia: Tim Paine (Capt.), David Warner, Marcus Harris, Will Pucovski, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Cameron Inexperienced, Mathew Wade, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Neser and Mitchell Swepson.

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford and Paul Reiffel; Third umpire: Rod Tucker; Match referee: David Boon.

Match begins at 5 a.m. IST on Friday (January 15).

Reside on Sony Ten 1, 3 and Six (SD & HD).

You may have reached your restrict totally free articles this month.

Subscription Advantages Embrace

At present’s Paper

Discover mobile-friendly model of articles from the day’s newspaper in a single easy-to-read record.

Limitless Entry

Get pleasure from studying as many articles as you want with none limitations.

Personalised suggestions

A choose record of articles that match your pursuits and tastes.

Sooner pages

Transfer easily between articles as our pages load immediately.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the most recent updates, and managing your preferences.


We temporary you on the most recent and most necessary developments, thrice a day.

Assist High quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans don’t at the moment embody the e-paper, crossword and print.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *