Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Azharuddeen smashes 37-ball century as Kerala beat Mumbai by 8 wickets | Cricket News

MUMBAI: Kerala rode on opener Mohammed Azharuddeen‘s whirlwind unbeaten 137 off 54 balls to beat Mumbai by 8 wickets as they comfortably chased a stiff goal of 197 in simply 15.5 overs in a night Group E recreation within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on Wednesday.
Azharuddeen hammered 9 fours and eleven sixes, and accomplished his 100 in 37 balls. He tore aside an skilled Mumbai assault on the Wankhede stadium and bought in a position assist from Robin Uthappa (33) and one-down Sanju Samson (22).

Put into bat, Mumbai posted 196/7 with helpful contributions from Aditya Tare (42), Yashasvi Jaiswal (40) and Suryakumar Yadav (38). Speedster S Sreesanth had an off day as he conceded 47 runs in 4 overs.

Earlier within the day, Delhi recorded their second straight win after beating Andhra Pradesh by six wickets in an Elite Group E recreation.
Put into bat on the Wankhede Stadium, Andhra had been restricted to 124/9 of their 20 overs, as Delhi bowlers led by left-arm pacer Pradeep Sangwan (3/33), put up a powerful present.
Delhi chased the goal with three overs to spare even as skipper and India opener Shikhar Dhawan (5) fell cheaply.
For Andhra, Ashwin Hebber, who walked in at quantity 5 (32) was the highest scorer as their complete top-order together with skipper Ambati Rayadu (1), stumper Okay S Bharat (8) and Ricky Bhuvi (0) struggled.
Andhra had been reeling at 36 for 4 at one stage. Their innings by no means bought going as Delhi made common inroads. India speedster Ishant Sharma (2/17), right-arm pacer Simarjeet Singh (2/21) and off-spinner Lalit Yadav (2/22) performed their roles to perfection.
For Delhi, the chase wasn’t precisely a stroll within the park as they had been diminished to 10 for 2. However Nitish Rana (27) and Anuj Rawat (33) shared 52-runs for the third wicket to carry them again into the sport.
After the 2 departed, Himmat Singh (32 not out) and Lalit Yadav (20 not out) ensured that there have been no additional hiccups as they cast an unbeaten 40-run fifth wicket stand to take their facet dwelling.
Delhi had defeated Mumbai of their opening recreation.
Temporary Scores:
At Wankhede Stadium: Mumbai 196/7 (Aditya Tare 42, Yashasvi Jaiswal 40; Okay M Asif 3/25) misplaced to Kerala 201/2 (Mohammed Azharuddeen 137 not out; Shams Mulani 1/41) by 8 wickets.
Andhra Pradesh 124/9 (Ashwin Hebbar 32; Pradeep Sangwan 3/33, Ishant Sharma 2/17, Simarjeet Singh 2/21) misplaced to Delhi 128/4 (Anuj Rawat 33; Himmat Singh 32 not out; M Harishankar Reddy 2/40) by six wickets.
Pondicherry 148/4 (Shedlon Jackson 82, Paras Dogra 32; Arun Chaprana 2/19) misplaced to Haryana 149/4 (Himanshu Rana 58, Shivam Chauhan 45; PankaJ Singh 2/31) by 6 wickets.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *