Narendra Modi named Somnath Temple trust chairman; 2nd PM to hold post

Picture Supply : PTI (FILE)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah provide prayers on the Somnath Temple.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on Monday unanimously chosen as the brand new chairman of the trust which manages the world well-known Somnath Temple at Prabhas Patan city in Gujarat’s Gir-Somnath district, turning into the second PM to hold the post.

Modi, one of many trustees of the Shree Somnath Trust, was named to the highest post unanimously throughout a gathering which he attended by by way of video conferencing.

“The trustees unanimously selected Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi as the following chairman of the Trust, to information it within the occasions to come. The Prime Minister accepted the duty and in addition appreciated the efforts of Workforce Somnath,” stated a PIB launch in Delhi.

“He expressed hope that collectively, the trust might be ready to additional enhance infrastructure, lodging preparations, recreation services and assist set up stronger connection of the pilgrims with our nice heritage. A assessment of the services, ongoing actions and initiatives was additionally carried out in the course of the assembly,” it stated.

On the digital assembly, the trustees paid tributes to former Gujarat Chief Minister late Keshubhai Patel, the ex-chairman of the Trust.

After former PM Morarji Desai, Modi is the second Prime Minister who has been appointed the chairman of the temple trust. As per trust information, Modi has turn into the eighth chairman of the trust.

The post of the Somnath Trust’s chairman fell vacant after the demise of Patel in October final yr. Patel had served because the chairman for 16 years (2004-2020). Present trustees embody BJP chief LK Advani, Union Residence Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat-based scholar JD Parmar and businessman Harshvardhan Neotia. Trustee-Secretary P K Laheri stated Shah proposed the title of Modi as the following chairman.

“Whereas Shah proposed the title of PM Modi as chairman, I seconded it and the opposite trustees then unanimously elected the PM as the brand new chairman. The trustees would hold one other assembly to focus on future plans,” Laheri advised reporters after the assembly on Monday night.

As per the information, Desai had served because the chairman between 1967 and 1995. Moreover Desai and Patel, among the illustrious previous chairpersons of the trust embody Jamsaheb Digvijaya Singh Ji, Kanaiyalal Munshi, Jay Krishna Hari Vallabh, Dineshbhai Shah and Prasanvadan Mehta, the discharge stated.

Newest India Information

fbq(‘init’, ‘529056027274737’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *