Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Vivek Singh Stars As Bengal Beat Jharkhand For Second Straight Win

Opener Vivek Singh hammered a 64-ball 100 (13 fours, 3 sixes) to star in Bengal’s 16-run win towards Jharkhand in a Elite Group B match the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event in Kolkata on Tuesday. The house crew notched up its second straight win, following a victory over Odisha on the opening day (January 10). Opting to bat first at Eden Gardens, Bengal rode on left-handed Singh’s stroke-filled century to make 161 for six in 20 overs. After a primary wicket partnership of 60 between Vivek and Shreevats Goswami (27, 28 balls, 3 fours), the house crew faltered as not one of the different batsmen bought going.

The Jharkhand bowlers did effectively to hit again after a strong begin by Vivek and Goswami and picked up the essential wickets of skipper Anustup Majumdar and Manoj Tiwary to stymie the Bengal scoring.

In reply, Jharkhand noticed opener Anand Singh (13) fall within the third over.

Captain Ishan Kishan (22) and Virat Singh (47, 35 balls, 4 fours, 2 sixes) raised 38 runs for the second wicket.

When the duo was seeking to up the scoring fee, Kishan was snared by Arnab Nandi. The wickets of Kumar Suraj, Pankaj Kumar and Virat in fast succession pegged Jharkhand again additional.

Regardless of some aggression proven by Utkarsh Singh (28 runs off 14 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes), Jharkhand fell quick by 16 runs.

In one other match within the group, Hyderabad pulled off a six-run win over Odisha.


Transient scores: Bengal 161 for six in 20 overs (Vivek Singh 100 not out, Shreevats Goswami 27, Monu Kumar 3/30) beat Jharkhand 145 for 9 in 20 overs (Virat Singh 47, Utkarsh Singh 28) by 16 runs. Bengal: 4 factors, Jharkhand: 0.

Hyderabad 153 for 8 in 30 overs (Tilak Varma 44, Tanmay Agarwal 34, Suryakant Pradhan 3/34) beat Odisha 147 for 4 in 20 overs (Govinda Poddar 50, Subhransu Senapati 42 not out, Rajesh Dhupar 30 not out, C V Milind 2/24) by six runs. Hyderabad: 4 factors, Odisha: 0.

Matters talked about on this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *